The idea of a Most Valuable Player Award was first devised by the Chalmers Motor Company of Detroit in 1911. But the company discontinued its sponsorship of the award after only four years.

In 1922 the American League resurrected the award, but it took two more years for the National League to also name an MVP. By 1929, both leagues had, again, abandoned the award.

At the December 11, 1930, general meeting of the Baseball Writers Association, the group voted to make the Most Valuable Player Award their official award. Three writers from each city in both the American and National Leagues were selected to vote. The first “official” winners selected by the BBWAA were announced in the fall of 1931. Since then, the BBWAA has voted and presented the award every year. In the late 1960s, the BBWAA copyrighted the award.

At their 1944 meeting, the writers renamed the MVP trophy the Kenesaw Mountain Landis Award. The commissioner died one month later, but his name remains on the award to this day.

2020 National League MVP

Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

Click here for voting results

2020 American League MVP

Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox

Click here for voting results

Copyright © 2017, 2018 New York Baseball Writers' Association Chapter All Rights Reserved.